Officiating Chaos Strikes Again — And the Packers Come Out on Top

How a Pair of Controversial Calls Tilted Momentum in Green Bay’s Favor


A First Half Defined by Confusion — and Consequences

Thanksgiving football is supposed to be dramatic. But inside Ford Field, the drama had less to do with the players and far more to do with the officials. In a game already heavy with playoff implications, two key calls — both benefiting the Green Bay Packers — swung the rhythm and scoreboard in ways the Detroit Lions may never fully recover from.


The Timeout That Didn’t Exist… Until It Did

The biggest controversy erupted late in the second quarter. Green Bay faced fourth-and-1 at Detroit’s 2-yard line, and when offensive lineman Anthony Belton clearly jumped early, officials initially flagged the Packers for a false start — a penalty that likely forces a field goal attempt.

Then everything changed.

Officials huddled, deliberated, and announced that Packers head coach Matt LaFleur had called a timeout before the penalty, nullifying the false start entirely.

But the replay told a different story.

In clear sideline footage, LaFleur didn’t begin signaling for a timeout until after Belton moved. His mouth was covered behind a play sheet, making any verbal call impossible to verify. Even Fox rules analyst Dean Blandino admitted the verbal explanation seemed unlikely given what the cameras captured.

After the game, when asked about the discrepancy, LaFleur smirked and said, “Of course, they got it right,” punctuating his answer with a wink — a response that only fueled frustration across Detroit.

Referee Ron Torbert, speaking in the official PFWA pool report, stood by the ruling, offering little in the way of transparency.
“The timeout was called before the false start happened,” he repeated, despite replay suggesting otherwise.

The outcome?
On the very next play, Green Bay scored on a 2-yard touchdown catch by Romeo Doubs, extending the lead to 17–7 with just over two minutes left in the half.

It wasn’t just a missed call. It was a momentum-changer.


Another Questionable Touchdown: Wicks’ Contested Catch

The timeout fiasco wasn’t the only blow to Detroit.

Earlier in the second quarter, Green Bay scored on a fourth-down touchdown to Dontayvion Wicks — a play that also drew immediate scrutiny. From one angle, Wicks appeared to still be bobbling the football as he secured his first foot in bounds.

Despite that, officials reviewed the play and upheld the touchdown, giving the Packers a 10–0 lead.

According to Mark Butterworth, the NFL’s vice president of instant replay, the league saw no issue:
“We saw control with his right foot down and his left down in the end zone and then a third step out of the end zone.”

When asked if there was any concern about Wicks bobbling the ball, Butterworth’s answer was short:
“No.”

He elaborated that a receiver “can actually pull that ball into his body as he completes the process of the catch,” offering an explanation that did little to calm Detroit fans watching the replay in disbelief.


A Game Overshadowed by Officiating

Football is decided by players — until it isn’t. In a tight divisional matchup, the Lions found themselves fighting not just the Packers, but the interpretations and inconsistencies of the officiating crew.

Two pivotal calls.

Both in Green Bay’s favor.
Both with postseason implications.

Detroit may still have its say as the season continues, but on Thanksgiving Day at Ford Field, officiating chaos made sure the Packers walked away with more than a victory — they walked away with controversy trailing behind them.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *